Untitled 9

When I was boy

Standing

statue still

locked eyes

transfixed by that spot where sneakers met  pavement

the earth rotated

I held my breath

straining to see it move

I was a boy

in subtropical climes

thrusting popsicle-sticky hands

searching

goading the secretive

dark corners

of humid Florida afternoons

to defend themselves before

scurrying away.

When I was a boy

I felt the foundation shift

crumble against the force

of tiny undeveloped muscles

gritting my teeth

lifting the house

imperceptibly

When I was a boy

I would have forgiven you anything

But I was an idiot.

When I was a boy.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

